(IPOPHL Director General Ricardo R. Blancaflor inducts the 1st batch of IP Youth Advocates coming from the Ateneo De Manila High School, Manila Science High School, and the Philippine Science High School during the 3rd Philippine Anti-Counterfeiting and Piracy Summit on October 21, 2013 at the Marriot Hotel. Together with the students are their schools’ representatives and IPOPHL Deputy Director General Allan B. Gepty.)


(21 October 2013) Manila, Philippines -- The Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines (IPOPHL) and the multi-agency taskforce on IP enforcement, National Committee on IP Rights (NCIPR), hold today, 21 October, the 3rd Philippine Anti-Counterfeiting and Piracy Summit.

The one-day summit adopts the theme “A Strong Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) Regime through Enforcement and Education.” The IPOPHL and the other member agencies of NCIPR are confident that stricter IP enforcement and aggressive education campaign are key in making the country benefit more from the IP system.

The other NCIPR members are the Department of Trade and Industry, the Department of Justice, the Department of the Interior and Local Government, the Bureau of Customs, the National Telecommunications Commission, the National Bureau of Investigation, the Philippine National Police, the Optical Media Board, the National Book Development Board and the Bureau of Food and Drugs.

The highlights of this year’s summit are the awarding of the 2013 IP Champions, the induction of the first batch of young IP advocates and the signing of a memorandum of agreement on road safety that promotes the use of genuine motor vehicles and automotive parts and accessories.


Awarding of the 2013 IP Champions

The 2013 IP Champions award honors local and foreign professionals whose individual contributions have helped strengthen the Philippine IP system.

In the area of legislation, the 2013 IP champions are former Senator Manuel B. Villar; Bataan Governor Albert Raymond S. Garcia, a former member of the House of Representatives; Congressman Rufus Rodriguez and Congressman Joel Roy Duavit. Their efforts have paved the way for the signing into law of the Republic Act 10372 that amends certain provisions in the Philippine IP Code. The amendments update the country’s copyright law and give the IPOPHL enforcement powers, a first in Southeast Asia.

Noted for their support in IP enforcement are Commissioner Rozzano Rufino Biazon and Atty. Rogel Gatchalian of the Bureau of Customs and former National Bureau of Investigation Director Atty. Nonnatus Caesar Rojas. From January to September this year, the NCIPR seized pirated and counterfeit goods worth PHP 6.13 billion, and with the biggest haul coming from the Bureau of Customs at PHP 3.17 billion.

In the area of capacity building in the judiciary, the IPOPHL and NCIPR have recognized the efforts of

Hon. Justice Adolfo S. Azcuna and Hon. Justice Delilah Vidallon Magtolis of the Philippine Judicial Academy; Hon. Justice Diosdado Peralta and Justice Lucas P. Bersamin of the Supreme Court of the Philippines; Dean Sedfrey M. Candelaria of the Ateneo Law School; and Mr. Peter Fowler of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. The IP Champion recognition is also given to Senior Deputy State Prosecutor (SDSP) Severino H. Gana, Jr. of the Department of Justice for his work in the crafting and publication of the Manual for the Investigation and Prosecution of IPR Cases.

The contributions of Mr. Kim Yoonsik of the Korean Copyright Commission; Mr. Noel Cabangon; and Mr. Dimiter Gantchev of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) in developing the Philippine copyright industries are also noted.

The other 2013 IP Champions are Mr. Paulo Agostinho of WIPO for his contribution and continuing support in the establishment of IPOPHL’s Industrial Property Automation System (IPAS); Mr. Jesus Varela of the Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry for promoting IP awareness and utilization in the business sector; and IdeaSpace Foundation, Inc. President Mr. Earl Martin Valencia and Director Edgar Garcia of the Department of Science and Technology for their support in the promotion of IP, innovation and technology.


Induction of Young IP Advocates

Eleven promising students are inducted as IP Youth Advocates at the summit. The first batch of IP Youth Advocates come from the Ateneo High School, Manila Science High School and the Philippine Science High School. They are Dave Joseph Oblena and Irvin Christopher Embalsado from Ateneo High School; Angela R. dela Rama, Vanessa Shane Develos, Monica Laboy and Czarina Jeane Correa from Manila Science High School; and Irene S. Rivera, Marla Via S. Abao, Jaime Enrique C. Ferrer, Anna Patricia F. Martinez and Matthew Elijah Crisologo from the Philippine Science High School.

The IP advocates attended the pioneering two-day IP Youth Camp of IPOPHL held last September in Baras, Rizal. The project is designed to get involved the youth in the promotion of IP. The IP youth leaders are expected to help in the promotion and appreciation of IP in their respective campuses and in the process honing them to become the country’s future IP leaders and advocates.


Signing of Road Safety Agreement

A memorandum on road safety is signed at the summit. The IPOPHL, the Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), the Land Transportation Office (LT0) and the Motorcycle Development Program Participants Association (MDPPA) have agreed to launch a nationwide campaign to raise public awareness on the health hazards of the use of counterfeit motor vehicles and automotive parts and accessories.

Hon. Paquito Ochoa Jr., Executive Secretary and Chairman of the Anti-Terrorism Council and Philippine Center for Transnational Crime is the keynote speaker at this year’s summit. Government officials and industry representatives will also discuss during the roundtable discussion at the summit the challenges and industry perspectives on the future of IP enforcement. ###